A webpage from the RI Office of Library and Information Services offering a fantastic list of resources to explore. These include reading resources, arts and crafts, museum tours and music concerts. for do it your self-ers and to share with friends.
RI Memory Cafes is a service organization supporting people living with dementia. They offer a consistent source of support aimed at cultivating social interaction, creating uplifting moments, and educating our greater community. Due to Covid-19, these memory cafes have moved to a virtual format every Monday and Thursday at 1:00 pm. Link to the Cafe from the Age Friendly RI Virtual Community Calendar
Mango is an online language-learning program that can help patrons learn more than 70 foreign languages including Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, Pirate, Mandarin Chinese, Italian and many more, in an easy-to-learn manner.
At the ASKRI.org database page scroll down to find the link to Mango. One must be a public library card holder to use this resource.
Without the pressure of exams, papers, grades, or previous academic degrees, OLLI members enjoy an environment that encourages intellectual stimulation, curiosity, and the desire to learn just for the joy of learning. Membership fee is 65.00/year. Course fees are generally 10.00 to 40.00. Special interest Groups bring members with similar interests together for free activities and programs
This study investigated whether learning multiple real-world skills simultaneously is possible in older adults and also whether it improves both their cognitive abilities (working memory, episodic memory, and cognitive control) and functional independence.
This is a link to the RI Public Library catalog materials on "Computers and Older People". The list includes books on different types of computer devices, mobile phones, software programs social media and more
Call Number: Check the library catalog for the call #
Publication Date: 2018-06-19
Break through research has revealed that through living a brain-healthy lifestyle, we can reduce our "brain age" to improve memory, hone sharpness, and reduce health risks as we age. It's normal for the brain to short-circuit every now and again--you put your keys in the fridge,or can't find the pair of glasses on top of your head. But what if there was away to eat, exercise, and live that could eliminate these "senior moments?" Based on groundbreaking scientific research, this plan is filled with brain-healthy foods, exercises, and little ways that you can positively impact your most vital organ every day by de-stressing, adjusting your attitude, and constantly interacting with the world through play.
Have you ever spent 10 minutes looking for your reading glasses, and they were on the top of your head? Or, have you walked into a room and forgotten why you went there? Most people, even younger ones, have had these experiences but when should such instances be something of concern? What are the normal signs of aging? Is there anything you can do to maintain your brain health as you age? Brain Health as Your Age provides useful, achievable actions you can take to reduce your risk of brain function decline, accurate information about identifying problems, and real solutions.
Enjoy the top social media sites with ease and security. Done correctly, social media is a way to connect friends, family, and the world while still maintaining security and privacy. Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram For Seniors For Dummies, 3rd Edition offers advice on how to enjoy the three most popular social media options while avoiding worry about who sees what you share. Written by social media expert Marsha Collier, this book walks you through establishing accounts, making connections, and sharing content including photos and video. You learn the settings to adjust on each platform to maintain privacy and filter out the content you don't want. This book also explains the subtle art of avoiding or blocking people on social platforms without jeopardizing your real-world relationships! Take control of what you share Connect with others Take and share your best pictures Use social media as a news source Social media sites are great fun once you learn how to cut through the clutter--and this book shows you how!
From a Harvard- and Yale- trained neuropsychologist and a national leader in the field of brain health, a science-backed program to boost memory and dramatically decrease the risk of Alzheimer's in five steps. American adults fear Alzheimer¹s more than any other disease and because many people do not realize there is no genetic for 99 percent of Alzheimer¹s cases, they do not take the necessary steps to change lifestyle factors shown to significantly protect against the disease. Author Braun interviews eight leading brain health experts, combining their insights with cutting-edge research to offer proven strategies to implement the five steps of the High-Octane Brain.Interactive exercises guide readers to develop a personalized program for optimal brain health. Dr. Braun provides a tracking system with a visual depiction of progress, and shows the High-Octane Brain plan in action through the lives of clients. Packed with valuable tips that you can implement immediately to minimize common "brain blips," exercises to boost your memory within minutes, and inspiring insights from nine High-Octane Brain role models ages 44 to 103, this groundbreaking book will finally put the future of your brain in your control.
Talk to any and all golfers and you'll hear that they want to improve their game in some way. But up until now, most expert books on golf instruction have focused only on the approach advocated by a particular teaching pro or famous playerWith How to Learn Golf, the first comprehensive guide to contemporary golf instruction, Harry Hurt III will help you become a better golfer by identifying what type of player you really are, and which of the several leading methods are right for you and your golfing goals. Hurt provides illuminating detail on the most effective approaches to improving each aspect of your golf game.
Containing 6 wonderful step-by-step projects and ideas for many, many more, this highly practical guide to cloth doll making contains the best of Jan Horrox's previous titles: Introduction to Making Cloth Dolls and Making Fantasy Cloth Dolls. Containing 6 wonderful step-by-step projects and ideas for many, many more, this highly practical guide to cloth doll making contains the best of Jan Horrox's previous titles: Introduction to Making Cloth Dolls and Making Fantasy Cloth Dolls. The book is aimed at those who are new to doll making, as well as more experienced needlecrafters. Jan's beautiful dolls are exquisitely made, yet by breaking the process down into easy-to-follow steps, they become surprisingly easy to achieve.
Keep Sharp debunks common myths about aging and cognitive decline. Discover what we can learn from "super-brained" people who are in their eighties and nineties with no signs of slowing down--and whether there are truly any benefits to drugs, supplements, and vitamins. Dr. Sanjay Gupta addresses brain disease, particularly Alzheimer's, answers all your questions about the signs and symptoms, and shows how to ward against it and stay healthy while caring for a partner in cognitive decline. He likewise provides you with a personalized twelve-week program featuring practical strategies to strengthen your brain every day.
The latest scientific information on aging and memory, along with expert advice for middle-aged and older adults concerned about memory problems. Do all adults experience memory difficulties as they age? What is the difference between normal memory change and the symptoms of Alzheimer's disease? Is it possible to stem, or even reverse, memory decline? This timely book is a comprehensive guide for the growing number of adults who are eager to learn how aging affects memory and what can or cannot be done about it. Gilles Einstein and Mark McDaniel, widely respected for their research and lectures on memory, explain how memory works and how memory processes change with age.
From the author of The Chemistry of Joy and The Chemistry of Calm comes a practical guidebook for building and maintaining a sharp, healthy, and vibrant mind. A strong memory and a healthy brain aren't as difficult to maintain as one might think; combining the latest neuroscience research with age-old wisdom about resilience, mindfulness, and stress reduction, Drs. Henry Emmons and David Alter show that vibrant aging is within reach. Together they demonstrate how to blend the best of modern science and Eastern holistic medicine together to form a powerful drug-free program to maintain a youthful mind and a happy life. Filled with easy to understand theories and practical exercises to work out your brain and mind, Staying Sharp provides you with a blueprint to live more joyfully, age more gracefully, and build intimacy in your relationships, no matter what your age.