Visit Rhode Island's public libraries!
Public libraries offer books, magazines, newspapers, DVDs and CDs, in hardcopy and in digital versions; information services and programs for children, teens and adults; technology of all kinds and tutorials on using various devices and software programs; meeting spaces, and much more. Every city and town has a public library which is a part of a statewide network called Ocean State Libraries and, through this network, Rhode Islanders can access and borrow many of the materials and resources of each of the libraries in the network.
Below are links to the Ocean State library catalog and a database for finding magazine, journal, and newspaper articles, and information from encyclopedias, fact sheets, image resources, etc. Connect with a librarian to learn more about these databases.
You will need an Ocean State Library Card to both borrow from the library and access its electronic resources from home. Click here to find out how to apply for a card.
Printable forms available in Spanish, Portuguese, and English
Click on the image below to search the library Encore catalog, sign into your library account, access databases, locate a member library, etc.
CONSUMER HEALTH COMPLETE is a database that searches for information in health encyclopedias & dictionaries, fact sheets and full text articles, and other information resources. Click on the image below to go to ASKRI.org* (where other information databases can also be found). Look for EBSCO resources in the left hand column and click on it. Halfway down the page on the right side will be a link to Consumer Health Complete. Access this from a home computer or from one at a local library. Contact a librarian for assistance using this database.
*The online portal for all services of the Statewide Reference Resource Center at Providence Public Library. Statewide databases like Consumer Health Complete and others are provided through cooperative purchasing among Rhode Island’s library consortia: HELIN (academic libraries), Ocean State Libraries (public libraries) and RILINK (school libraries).