James P. Adams Library: NURS: Resources for DNP Students: Sources for Systematic Reviews and Meta Analyses

Sample Review and Analysis

Sample Systematic Review*
Penprase, B., Brunetto, E., Dahmani, E., Forthoffer, J. J., & Kapoor, S. (2015). The Efficacy of Preemptive Analgesia for Postoperative Pain Control: A Systematic Review of the Literature. AORN Journal, 101(1), 94-105. doi:10.1016/j.aorn.2014.01.030
Sample Meta Analysis**
de Niet, G., Tiemens, B., Lendemeijer, B., & Hutschemaekers, G. (2009). Music-assisted relaxation to improve sleep quality: meta-analysis. Journal Of Advanced Nursing, 65(7), 1356-1364. doi:10.1111/j.1365-2648.2009.04982.x

Definitions

*A Systematic review is a study which presents a summary and critical assessment and evaluation of all research studies that address a particular clinical issue. The researchers use an organized method of locating, assembling, and evaluating a body of literature using a set of specific criteria. The systematic review may also include a quantitative pooling of the data from the individual studies, called a meta-analysis. (US DHHS "Effective Health Care Program")

**A Meta-Analysis is a statistical process that combines the findings from individual studies. (US DHHS "Effective Health Care Program")

Sources for Reviews and Analyses

Each of the database titles below will link to the search screen for that database. In the "Limits" section of each screen there is an option to limit to "Publication Type" or "Type of Article". Use that limit and choose as follows:

CINAHL with FullText - Use the Publication Type limit and choose "Systematic Review"

PubMed - Enter search terms at homepage and click on Search. Choose limits i.e. " Review" and/or "Meta Analysis" and/or "Clinical Trials" from list of "Article Types" on the left side.

GOOGLE Scholar - Search "Systematic Review" or "Meta Analysis" (in quotation marks) along with topic terms i.e. "guided imagery and systematic review;" "massage and meta analysis" on the left side of the Google results screen in an option to limit by date/most recent years.

PubMed Health specializes in reviews of clinical effectiveness research, with easy-to-read summaries for consumers as well as full technical reports. Clinical effectiveness research finds answers to the question “What works?” in medical and health care. [from website]

When accessing these databases from off campus you will be asked to enter your RIC Username and Password

Other

ClinicalTrials.gov ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world. Learn more About Clinical Studies and About This Site, including relevant History, Policies, and Laws .

Cochrane Library. The Cochrane Library (ISSN 1465-1858) is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. RIC does not subscribe to the Cochrane Library, but it is still possible to search within some of the databases and retrieve abstracts and/or summaries of reviews.

AHRQ The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ) mission is to produce evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable, and to work within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and with other partners to make sure that the evidence is understood and used.

National Guidelines Clearinghouse. NGC is a public resource for evidence based clinical practice guidelines.