Skip to main content

HIST 282 - The Great War / Schneider, Joanne

Tools and research strategies for finding resources on the Great War
Subjects: History Tags: first world war, the great war, world war i, wwi

Articles in Databases

Before you search the databases below, make sure that you consider carefully the persons, places, named events and organizations or groups related to the research question you are trying to answer and that you create a list of ideas to use as keywords in your search.

When you find a relevant citation, several of these indices will provide full text of the material within the database.  But not all citations may contain full text files.  Be sure to use the "Check the RIC Library" links: articles may be licensed for presentation in OTHER online databases to which Adams Library subscribes. If not found online, links may also be provided to "Request an article". REMEMBER: article requests require a MINIMUM of 7-10 days or, if they are out-of-state requests, a MINIMUM of two weeks.  QUESTIONS? Contact the author of this guide (see sidebar) or the Reference and Research Support department of Adams Library, via text, email, or drop by the Reference Desk!

Additional resources:

Newspapers

  • New York Times Historical [1851-2013]  - see above box  
  • Providence Journal - see above box
  • The Waterford (Ireland) News  - "Waterford in Wartime, 1914-1918" - a digitization project
  • The Belgian War Press - includes digitized issues of both censored and clandestine newspapers in Belgium during both WWI and WWII.  More than 50% of the papers are in French and the rest in Flemish.
  • ANNO - AustriaN Newspapers Online  : full text searching for keywords (in German, of course!) is possible and the results can be limited by time period [Zeitraum].  Here is a link to an ANNO advanced search page [ ANNO-Suche ] which is pre-limited to 1914-1918.  You will need to supply additional German keywords in the TEXT search box to narrow the almost 70,000 hits!
  • COVID update -  NOT currently accessible:
  • Annual Index to The Times (of London) [1906-1913]  - Brown, Wheaton
  • Official Index to The Times (of London) [1914-1956] - Brown, Wheaton
  • The Times Digital Archive (1785-1985) - Brown, Wheaton
  • The Times ( London, England) 1785-2008 - URI Mform Area/Sect.1  MFILM

Austrian National Library (ONB)

Historical Austrian newspapers and journals (1689-1947) are in the process of being digitized. Users can browse in a list of titles where dates of publication are also listed.  Nearly 4 million newspaper pages are online, however, only some years of most newspapers are digitized.   Because of the centennial of the Erster Weltkrieg, special efforts have been made to digitize the relevant years of many newspapers in the ONB holdings.