Using secondary publications of primary documents is never preferred, but is sometimes all that is available to the undergraduate researcher in a reasonable amount of time (someday you may have the time to visit Bancroft Library at UCal/Berkeley to see the Free Speech Movement papers, but not likely this semester). Note that searching the HELIN Catalog for subject headings that include the word "Sources" usually retrieves material that includes republished primary source documents, i.e.:
United States - History -- 1961 - 1969 -- Sources
United States - Politics and government -- 1945 - 1989 -- Sources
United States - Politics and government -- 1963 - 1969 -- Sources
United States - Social Conditions -- 1960 - 1980 - Sources
Finding Books in Adams Library
If the record for a book indicates it is AVAILABLE you can locate the book in the circulating collection of the Library. Not sure where it is in the building? Use the Location Guides posted near the Reference Desk to check by the call number you found in the Library Catalog.
Books on United States history will generally have call numbers beginning with "E" and be shelved on Level 1B.
Plan ahead! Interlibrary loans often take 10 days to 2 weeks or more to arrive at RIC.
Remember: if you are using the "Check the RIC library" link from within a database and the initial "Finder" page shows that Adams Library does not have the article you seek, you can link directly to an Interlibrary Loan form, either on that page OR by returning to your citation in the database.
A digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form; Today (2021) the archive contains:
588 billion web pages
28 million books and texts
14 million audio recordings (including 220,000 live concerts)
6 million videos (including 2 million Television News programs)
3.5 million images
580,000 software programs
Content is searchable using metadata (AU/TI/SU/etc) as well as through fulltext.
Ebook Central (formerly Ebrary) is a collection of thousands of online full text books and other texts in a variety of subject areas. EBook Central allows for unlimited simultaneous users and therefore is a particularly convenient source for online class assignments.
Search the full-text of books. You won't be able to view more than a couple pages of most of the books, but if you discover books you need in Google Books, you can then find or request those books from HELIN or Interlibrary Loan.