Find Articles - HIST 282 - The 1960s - Primary Source Research - James P. Adams Library at James P. Adams Library

Does RIC own this journal?

To look for a specific periodical whose title you know (e.g. Journal of World History) , click on the Journals by Title link on the Library home page. A search for the journal, Journal of World History, for example, indicates what years (issues) are owned by Adams Library and in what format: print or electronic.

Journal by Title
The Journals by Title Search allows users to search for specific journals which are accessible to RIC's users. Full text and format availability for the item within each collection is listed along with publication information and coverage.
Journal of World History
Search by journal title example.

Articles in Databases

Before you search the databases below, make sure that you consider carefully the persons, places, named events and organizations or groups related to the research question you are trying to answer and that you create a list of ideas to use as keywords in your search.

When you find a relevent citation, click on "Check the library for the item" to open another window which will indicate if the library has access to the journal and in what format (print or electronic). If the answer under Option 1 is "Sorry, no holdings were found," Option 2 will allow searching of the entire HELIN catalog - other libraries in HELIN may have the article you need. Option 3 contains a link to "Request an article through document delivery" lower on the same page. REMEMBER: article requests require a MINIMUM of 10 days.

Articles in Databases - SECONDARY

America: History and Life
A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises over 490,000 bibliographic entries for periodicals dating back to 1954, providing a research tool for students and researchers of US and Canadian history.
JSTOR
RIC currently participates in all 15 JSTOR Arts & Sciences archive collections and the Life Sciences archive collection. Journals in archive collections are always included from volume 1 number 1, and related prior titles, but stop short of current issues. RIC also subscribes to 34 current journals in JSTOR. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Academic Search Complete
Indexes and abstracts over 11,000 magazines and scholarly journals in all subject areas with over 7,000 in full text.
Google Scholar
View these instructions to setup Google Scholar to connect to the RIC Library Databases.

Articles in Databases - PRIMARY

Providence Journal - Historical Archive
Full-text of articles and digital page images from 1829-1981 can be searched, emailed, or downloaded from the Providence Journal on Newsbank. Searches can be limited by various criteria including date.

Readers Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982
Readers' Guide Retrospective, produced by The H. W. Wilson Company, is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. The complete database covers the years 1890 through 1982. ACCESS LIMITED TO 6 SIMULTANEOUS USERS.
New York Times, 1851-2019 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
The New York Times (1851 to 2019) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective,1907-1984
Indexes nearly 1,200 periodicals, from 1907 - 1984. There are citations to more than 1,300,000 articles, including over 240,000 book reviews in this database.

Citing Articles

The Chicago Manual of Style (16th ed.) Chicago : The University of Chicago Press, 2010 REF Z253 .U69 2010 is kept in the Library's reference collection. Please ask for it at the Reference Desk if you should need information about proper citation that cannot be answered by the History Department's own "modified Chicago" style sheet.

Consider consulting OWL - the Online Writing Lab at Purdue University - for an online guide to Chicago style formatting for periodical article citations.