James P. Adams Library: Dorcas International Institute Scrapbooks: Collection of Materials

Information on the Materials

With the materials donated to Special Collections, a majority of the materials are based on the International Ball, which is an annual ball that the International Institute hosts. The pictures seen on the guide are from different International Ball throughout the years dating from the 1950s to 1960s. The photos can be clicked and allow users to be directed to the photo's location on Artstor.

Copyright Status

In regard to the photos being published through ArtStor, these images are made available under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) license. For more information on the images of the International Institute of Rhode Island archives email digitalcommons @ric.edu or call Digital Initiatives, James P. Adams Library, 401-456-8380.

Access to Photographs and Scrapbooks

Rhode Island College: International Institute of Rhode Island Photograph Collection
As the collection of photos were digitized, they were made public and are able to be viewed freely on the Public Collection section of ArtStor. On ArtStor, al of the photographs from the scrapbooks can be viewed and downloaded.
Scrapbooks of the International Institute of Rhode Island (1930-1965)
The 14 scrapbooks from the International Institute can be found on the Rhode Island College Digital Commons. They are made public on the platform and can be downloaded for users to read.

International Ball Photographs

https://library.artstor.org/#/asset/25137428;prevRouteTS=1562855275640

Scrapbooks

The scrapbooks were digitized exactly as they were received and preserved as a pdf file. These scrapbooks have individual links that can be downloaded and viewed to see all of the materials inside. In some of the scrapbooks, there is an additional download button that presents a more detailed view on illegible or hard to read items. Some of the newspapers were originally hard to see or they were either folded.

2nd Annual International Ball
The scrapbook contains photos from the 2nd Annual International Ball that focuses on the various programs and attendees at the event. There are some pages addressing the hierarchical structure of the International Institute board members alongside invitations related to the ball. There are also many advertisements that the Institute produces leading up to the ball, alongside correspondences from invited guests in the scrapbook.
3rd Annual International Ball May 10, 1963
A majority of the scrapbook contains pictures from the Third Annual International Ball, with other documents pertaining to the committee involved of hosting the ball. These documents also pertains to tickets, invitations, and letters that are tied to the International Ball. There are also some newspaper clippings that advertised the International Ball while showcasing the dances and cultural outfits that will be worn during the event.
4th Annual International Ball May 8, 1964
The scrapbook contains photos, tickets, and invitations related to the International Ball. The photos are taken throughout the event, capturing the guests in attendance and various programs during the ball. There are also correspondences that were addressed to the International Institute in regards to guests not being able to make the ball. Posters and newspaper clippings are also held in the book that allows the audience to know the location and details of the ball.
5th Annual International Ball May 7, 1965
The majority of the scrapbook contains photos of the International Ball depicting prominent individuals attending the event, such as political figures, International Institute board members, and other attendees during the event. The scrapbook also contains photographs of various cultural outfits that are worn by people from different groups. There are also documents indicating the hierarchy of the International Institute's board members and list of programs occurring at specific dates. Various newspapers are also evident in the scrapbook that focuses on the International Ball.
Graphic Notes on Rhode Island, 1636-1936
The documents that make up the bulk of the scrapbooks are drawings and pictures related to Rhode Island culture. Within the scrapbook, these drawings depict items related to clothing, utensils, buildings and other assorted drawings from various time periods of Rhode Island history. There are also pictures that contain background information on various historical buildings in Rhode Island before the 1940s.
International Ball April 28, 1961
The scrapbook contains various photos that were taken during the International Ball, showcasing the individuals in attendance and programs that occurred throughout the night. There are many photos depicting speeches and cultural dances being performed at the event. There are also documents pertaining to correspondences, tickets, and posters related to the International Ball.
International Institute Annual Meeting 1962
The scrapbook contains print items related to the International Ball, with a copy of the itinerary listing for the different events that will occur throughout ball. There are also photos related to the ball featuring people conducting speeches, women showcasing cultural outfits and dancing from various cultural groups. The book also contains a document pertaining to the number of families reunited in 1961.
International Institute Newspaper Clippings, 1938-1943
The scrapbook contains various newspaper articles that focus on the International Ball and other cultural topics in the Rhode Island community. There are prominent cultural clubs that are involved with the international Institute and participating in the event. There are newspaper clippings involving weekly meetings and shift of leadership in these groups. These newspaper clippings pertains to general meetings and introduction of new leaders being elected in various cultural groups.
Newspaper Clippings From January, 1935-1938
In the scrapbook, there are various newspaper clippings that address Portuguese Handicrafts and an appreciation of other cultures. This cultural appreciation would be shown at the Rhode Island School of Design to provide audiences would an understanding of Portuguese designs. Alongside these artworks, there is a strong emphasis on Italo-American handicrafts also being displayed in the museum. These newspaper clippings also focus on other activities, organizations, and programs involving the foreign community of Rhode Island.
Scrapbook, 1940
The scrapbook contains newspaper clippings illustrating people from different cultural backgrounds enjoying the International Ball. The International Ball features many programs related to folk songs, dances, and costumes, allowing newspaper articles being created to show appreciation to the event. The impact of the Ball indicates how fast news of the events travels to print. There are also articles that focus on a Korean Aid Drive meant to help preserve the cultural collections of Korean Americans.
Scrapbook, 1941-1955
In the scrapbook, there are newspaper clippings that focus on the everyday lives of migrants in Rhode Island. There are several mentions of another culture's food or tradition being embraced in various news clippings. Honoring and lending aid to another culture are important topics in these newspaper clippings. There are also mentions various domestic and international news coverage that deals with various races in Rhode Island
Scrapbook, 1945-1953
As the scrapbook is primarily full of newspaper clippings, the clippings often depict people from various cultures and their daily lives. The International Institute provides a pivotal role in helping foreign citizens in both the road to citizenship and reuniting families, as obtaining citizenship seems to be prominent in the scrapbook. These clippings also address how new migrants are adapting to their new lives in Rhode Island, involving English programs and the International Institute helping them.
Scrapbook, 1949-1957
The scrapbook contains print newspapers related to recent migrants in Rhode Island, often involving their adjustment their new lifestyle in the states. In regards to the International Institute, the clippings address some topics surrounding citizenship, elected leaders spearheading organization and mentions of the annual International Ball.
Scrapbook, 1963-1964
The scrapbook contains documents and newspaper clippings addressing foreign students. There is a critical need to help the foreign population within the Rhode Island community. A prominent organization in Rhode Island, the International House of Rhode Island addresses the need to make foreign students feel comfortable in the community. With these students being a long way from home, the International House of Rhode Island was created for the purpose of helping foreign students and giving grants to help facilitate student learning.