I Need Criticism of Multilingual Texts - Know Your Databases - Language & Literature - James P. Adams Library at James P. Adams Library

JSTOR

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
RIC currently participates in all 15 JSTOR Arts & Sciences archive collections and the Life Sciences archive collection. Journals in archive collections are always included from volume 1 number 1, and related prior titles, but stop short of current issues. RIC also subscribes to 34 current journals in JSTOR. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

Strengths:
- JSTOR provides result lists with a fair mix of English language and non-English language items
  - Automatically searches "All Languages"
- After applying a specific language filter, JSTOR returns the most language appropriate results with full text
- Full text searching is available
- All journals go back to volume 1
Weaknesses:
- Does not offer the newest publication dates (spanning from the last three to five years)
- Only offers the choice of about ten languages within the advanced search page's limiter options

Strengths:
- On the main advanced search page, the language limiter offers a selection of about 82 different languages
- Within the limiter options to the left of the results page, MLA International Bibliography lists the number of items available per language for the specific search
Weaknesses:
- Offers less non-English language items than JSTOR, even after applying a language filter
- Provides inconsistent full text for items