James P. Adams Library: Interprofessional Education: Journals & Articles

Interprofessional Education

Abrams, Sarah E. (2008). The Case for Interprofessional Education.
Editorial. Public Health Nursing 29(5) Sept 2012.
Sims, D. (2011). Achieving Collaborative Competence through Interprofessional Education. Lessons Learned from Joint Training in Learning Disability Nursing and Social Work.
Social Work Education, 30(1), 98-112. doi:10.1080/02615471003748056

Journal of Research in Interprofessional Practice & Education

"The Journal of Research in Interprofessional Practice and Education (JRIPE) i
A peer-reviewed, open access journal that disseminates theoretical perspectives, methodologies, and evidence-based knowledge to inform interprofessional practice, education, and research."

Jefferson InterProfessional Education Center (JCIPE) Interprofessional Education and Care e-newsletter

"The Interprofessional Education and Care Newsletter is a peer reviewed open access publication that aims to disseminate current information and innovative projects advancing interprofessional education, evaluation, research and practice."

Only the most recent articles are listed below.

Periodical Databases

The databases listed below allow one to search for articles in journals and other forms of periodical literature. There is a great deal of fulltext within these databases, as well as links to additional electronic journals in Adams Library. If you cannot find the fulltext of an article or need other assistance with the databases, please contact the Reference Desk (456-8125) or your library liaison.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
This comprehensive research database provides indexing and full text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals. Additional materials included in CINAHL Plus with Full Text include Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options.
PubMed
PubMed comprises over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

PubMed Central (PMC)
PMC is a free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)

MEDLINE
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
This version of MEDLINE can searched conveniently with PsycINFO, CINAHL and/or other Ebscohost databases.

Sigma Repository
The Sigma Repository is a free gray literature database provided by Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing. • Anyone with an internet connection may view the materials located here. • Any nurse who holds at least a BSN (or equivalent) degree from an accredited institution of higher education may submit their own work. • Sigma membership is not required. • Interprofessional collaborative writing is allowed. A nurse must be included in the group, but does not have to be the lead author. The nurse must submit the material on behalf of the author group.

PsycArticles

A database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, APA Educational Publishing Foundation, CPA, and Hogrefe & Huber. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology in areas including animal behavior, cognition, memory, neuroscience, perception, physiological psychology, psycholinguistics, psychometrics, social and personality psychology.
PsycINFO

PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines, such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, social work and criminology & criminal justice. Use this database to find academic resources and author profiles in: demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and other topics in the social sciences. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for hundreds of journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for books, monographs, and conference papers.
ERIC

Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. Provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
Education Full Text

Journal and magazine articles, book chapters, and conference proceedings for all areas of Education. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996. Historical coverage through Education Index Retrospective adds citations to 850,000 articles, including book reviews, dating back as far as 1929.
Google Scholar

View these instructions to setup Google Scholar to connect to the RIC Library Databases.
Academic Search Complete

Indexes and abstracts over 11,000 magazines and scholarly journals in all subject areas with over 7,000 in full text.