Government Publishing Office - Partnerships & Preservation Stewards - U.S. Government Information Resources - James P. Adams Library at James P. Adams Library

Select GPO Resources

"GPO is the Federal Government's primary resource for producing, procuring, cataloging, indexing, authenticating, disseminating, and preserving the official information products of the U.S. Government in both digital and tangible formats."

Catalog of United States Government Publications
The finding tool for federal documents published from 1976 to present. Includes direct links to those which are available online. Search by agency, document title, subject, or keyword. An "Advanced Search" option is available.
U.S.Government Manual
Printed by the GPO, but a publication of the Executive Branch, the Government Manual is the official handbook of the Federal Government. It provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees."
GovInfo
GPO's GOVINFO.gov, like the FDSys webpage, presents core resources and documents from all three branches of the U.S. Government. These searchable resources and collections include the the U.S. Budget, Code of Federal Regulations and Federal Register, Congressional Record, Economic Indicators, Economic Report of the President, Public Laws, US Code, and the U S Statutes at Large.
Cornerstone Documents of Our Democracy
Direct online access to essential current and historical publications which define our democratic society. Included are the Federalist Papers, the Declaration of Independence, the Emancipation Proclamation, presidential papers at the Library of Congress, Supreme Court Decisions, and more.
MetaLib
A portal for searching simultaneously across over 50 federal databases to retrieve reports, articles, citations. Use the Advanced Search for the most versatility.

GPO Partnerships

The Government Publishing Office has created partnerships with universities and other agencies to improve access to government information. The following sites are a few examples.

Cybercemetery
University of North Texas archive of government websites that have ceased operation
FRASER (Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research)
The St Louis Federal Reserve Digitized collections of core economic publications
Historic Government Publications from World War II
A Southern Methodist University digital collection. 343 Informational pamphlets, reports, instructions, regulations, declarations, speeches, and propaganda materials distributed by the GPO during the Second World War.
Historical Publications of the United States Commission on Civil Rights
Digitized collection of the Thurgood Marshall Law Library's collection of the United States Commission on Civil Rights publications.
U.S. Government Posters
Government posters from 1884 to the present digitized by the University of Iowa Library
GAO Reports and Testimonies
The independent and non partisan Government Accounting Office investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollar.
Preservation Stewards Map
Preservation Stewards make a commitment to retain specified tangible depository resources for the length of the partnership agreement. They also take on the additional responsibilities for preserving that material. This includes both preventive maintenance and conservation treatments.