Please note that this list is not reflective of all our collections that pertain to the Rhode Island Normal School (also called Rhode Island State Normal School). Please contact Special Collections for further information or questions you may have.
Catalogs and Bulletins. Includes the catalogs and bulletins of Rhode Island Normal School, Rhode Island College of Education, and Rhode Island College. (These are digitized and available via RIC Digital Collections).
Convocation Committee records. Includes Commencement programs, Presidential inaugurations, and anniversary celebrations. Cap and Gown programs, Commencement programs, and Commencement addresses have been digitized and are available on RIC Digital Collections.
Dana Colburn letter of recommendation for student; 1858 November 19. CA-0109. Letter of recommendation written by first principal of Rhode Island Normal School for a student.
Maria Montessori and Rhode Island Normal School file; undated, 1912-1913. CA-0106. Photographs and articles relating to Maria Montessori and her visit to Rhode Island Normal School.
Memorabilia. Includes memorabilia from Rhode Island Normal School, Rhode Island College of Education, and Rhode Island College. (A Rhode Island College memorabilia and photographs topic guide was created which lists related collections and items).
The Normal Student; 1896-1898. CA-0005. Newsletter created by students at the Rhode Island Normal School who were interested in publishing updates on events and providing information to students in their academic careers.
Rhode Island Normal School course schedule; circa 1890-1905. CA-0104. Handwritten course schedule of an unidentified individual.
Rhode Island Normal School. Columbian Exposition scrapbook; 1854-1893. CA-0013. The scrapbook depicts the Normal School's history through photographs of professors, students in classrooms, and classes in session. It was created to be sent to the Columbian Exposition held in Chicago circa 1893.
SIDQ newsletters; 1895-1896. CA-0004. Newsletters made by students at the Rhode Island Normal School who were interested in writing to aid students in their academic careers.
