Please note that this list is not reflective of all our collections relating to the Portuguese and Portuguese culture in Rhode Island. We are in the process of continuing to describe our collections. Additionally, this guide does not include our Cape Verdean related collections. Please see our Cape Verdean related collections guide for the list of collections relating to Cape Verde and Cape Verdeans in Rhode Island.
John A. Lima papers; circa 1924-1927. MSS-0135. Os Filhos de Portugal (The Children of Portugal) society ledger and two panoramic photographs of the New Portuguese Society of the Holy Ghost.
Al Nunes collection; 1956, 1964. MSS-0137. Two photographs collected by Al Nunes.
Lusophone Studies collection: A collection of books relating to the culture of Portuguese-speaking peoples.
Portuguese Cultural Association records; 1959-1980. MSS-0038. The collection contains the collected papers of the Portuguese Cultural Association based in East Providence, Rhode Island, and includes documents and photographs that celebrate and promote Portuguese culture.
Portuguese Heritage Subcommittee records; 1971-1990 (bulk 1980-1983). MSS-0043. The collection contains Mariana Pierannunzi’s collected documents of the Portuguese Heritage Subcommittee which was created to celebrate and promote Portuguese culture.
Joseph George Ray papers; 1919-2023, (bulk 1920-2000). MSS-0132. The Joseph George Ray collection contains original documents, poems, letters, newspaper articles, pamphlets, awards, objects, and photographs detailing the life and WWII military service of a Portuguese American who resided in West Warwick, RI.
