Finding Articles - Tools & Strategies - FYS 100 - Social Media : Masters or Monsters? / Smith - James P. Adams Library at James P. Adams Library

FYS 100 - Social Media : Masters or Monsters? / Smith

This guide offers background and analytical sources as well as research strategies to fulfill the goals of this course, which seeks, through discussion, group activities, and group presentations, to develop a deeper awareness of social media's effects
Subjects: Communication, First Year Seminar

Does RIC own this journal?

Databases with Periodical Articles: newspapers, magazines, and academic journals

Discovering and gaining access to high-quality articles requires the use of an online index or database. The three indexes selected for this list each specializes in a different type of periodical publication. The articles indexed in each are not openly accessible on the Net. When Google or Bing finds such an article, someone is likely to ask for your credit card: don't let them have it! Through the more than 125 online resources to which Adams Library subscribes, we provide you with access to expertly edited, fact-checked materials.

Before you search the databases below, make sure that you understand the concepts in your assignment. Check for definitions and background information in reference sources such as Credo Reference. (See the Reference Sources tab of this guide). Also, remember the strategy of creating a list of any synonyms for those concepts to use as starting keywords in your search.

When you find a relevant citation, if the article is not embedded in the database, click on "Check the (RIC) library for the item." This opens another window which will indicate if the library has access to the newspaper, magazine, or journal and in what format (print or electronic). If the initial answer is "Sorry, no holdings were found," use the InterLibrary Loan link to request the item.

Academic Search Complete

Indexes and abstracts over 11,000 magazines and scholarly journals in all subject areas with over 7,000 in full text.
Google Scholar

View these instructions to setup Google Scholar to connect to the RIC Library Databases.
JSTOR

RIC currently participates in all 15 JSTOR Arts & Sciences archive collections and the Life Sciences archive collection. Journals in archive collections are always included from volume 1 number 1, and related prior titles, but stop short of current issues. RIC also subscribes to 34 current journals in JSTOR. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

Citing Articles

Consult the wise old OWL - The Online Writing Lab at Purdue University - to get basic structural information for creating a citation list or bibliography using a particular citation style such as APA, MLA, or Chicago.