Skip to Main Content

HIST 389 - Senior Research Project

Selected resources for research exploring Eastern Europe, particularly Russia, Lithuania, Poland, and the Caucuses Region
Subjects: History

Suggested Readings

Finding Books in Adams Library

If the record for a book indicates it is AVAILABLE you can locate the book in the circulating collection of the Library. Not sure where it is in the building?  Use the Location Guides posted near the Reference Desk to check by the call number you found in the Library Catalog.

Reference books on Eastern European and Russian history will generally have call numbers beginning with "DJK" and "DK" respectively and be shelved on Level 3.

Class D -- Eastern European History

Main Article: Library of Congress Classification: Class D - History, General, and Old World

Primary source discovery - Books and other documents (principally)

Hathi Trust (pronounced HA-Tee) hathitrust.org       

Founded in 2008, HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law. (per Hathi "About" page) This means that most works published in the United States after 1925 will offer only a "Limited" view.  Searching effectively in Hathi can prove challenging because of the multiple types of searches offered.  A Search Tips page exists, but even that is complex.  Don't hesitate to consult with a librarian.

Internet Archive    archive.org

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.  The potential to find primary materials in this vast collection is unprecedented.  We began in 1996 by archiving the Internet itself, a medium that was just beginning to grow in use. 

As our web archive grew, so did our commitment to providing digital versions of other published works. Today our archive contains:

{We include] examples of films as far back as film has existed, as well as images that go back to the beginnings of photography in the mid-19th century.

Because we are a library, we pay special attention to books.  Books published prior to 1926 are available for reading and download, and hundreds of thousands of modern books can be borrowed through our Open Library site.

Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery

Plan ahead! Interlibrary loans often take 10 days to 2 weeks or more to arrive at RIC.

Remember: if you are using the "Check the RIC library" link from within a database and the initial "Finder" page shows that Adams Library does not have the article you seek, you can link directly to an Interlibrary Loan form, either on that page OR by returning to your citation in the database.