The clearer a concept is in your mind, the more productive and efficient your search for information will be. Consider using reference sources, particularly specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries, to obtain accurate definitions and descriptions for clarity. Collections of reference works, such as Credo Reference, may make your search for definitions and background more efficient.
Credo Reference provides an online reference collection of over 617 reference books. This collection includes various dictionaries and encyclopedias, as well as a broad range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art geography and law to technology.
Adams Library is a member of HELIN: the Higher Education Library Information Network, a group of 7 academic libraries which share their circulating resources as represented in the Library Catalog.
Almost any HELIN item found in the catalog which displays "Available" as a STATUS can be requested directly from any of the HELIN libraries using your RIC ID, as long as the 14-digit library barcode on the ID is active. Not sure yours is active? Contact Circulation at 456-8126.
Just using SHARKS as a keyword in a Library Catalog search generated a result list with over one hundred records on it. Limiting this search just to material at Adams Library left over 40 books and documents. The tiny list shown below of books and other materials in Adams Library's own collections will give you a taste of the amazing variety of resources available to you. Consider also using search terms related to SHARKS:
you would discover an even greater variety of materials.
The Encyclopedia of Aquatic Life by 
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, Volume 4: Fishes IGrzimeks Animal Life Encyclopedia 2 by Marine Animals of Southern New England and New York by 
Chasing Science at Sea by
To the average office-dweller, marine scientists seem to have the good life: cruising at sea for weeks at a time, swimming in warm coastal waters, living in tropical paradises. Butaocean scientists who go to sea will tell you that it is no vacation.aCreature comforts are few and the obstacles seemingly insurmountable, yet an abundance of wonder and discovery still awaits those who take to the ocean. "Chasing Science at Sea "immerses readers in the world of those who regularly go to seaOCoaquanauts living underwater, marine biologists seeking unseen life in the deep ocean, and the tall-ship captains at the helm, among othersOCoand tells the fascinating tale of what lifeOCoand scienceOCois like at the mercy of Mother Nature. With passion and wit, well-known marine scientist Ellen Prager shares her stories as well as those of her colleagues, revealing that in the field ingenuity and a good sense of humor are as essential as water, sunblock, and GPS. Serendipity is invaluable, and while collecting data is the goal, sometimes just getting back to shore means success. But despite the physical hardship and emotional duress that come with the work, aoptimism and adventureaprompt a particularly hardy species of scientist to return again and again to the sea. Filled with firsthand accounts of the challenges and triumphs of dealing with the extreme forces of nature and the unpredictable world of the ocean, "Chasing Science at Sea "is a unique glimpse below the water line at what it is like and why it is important to study, explore, and spend time in one of our planetOCOs most fascinating and foreign environments.a
Reproductive Biology and Phylogeny of Chondrichthyes by
This volume correlates available data and ideas concerning the development, reproductive morphology, function and phylogeny of chondrichthyan fishes. The information presented and discussed is fundamental to our understanding of oogenesis, spermatogenesis, gestation, regulation of reproductive tract function, sperm storage, nutrient provision, placentation, phylogeny and are pertinent to our concepts of the origin of live bearing in general. New and exciting data is presented including the idea that yolk sac viviparity is the plesiomorphic state rather than oviparity.
The Shark Conservation Act of 2009 : report of the Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation on S. 850.Sharks: The Animal Answer Guide by
Do sharks lay eggs or give birth to live young? Do sharks sleep? How long do they live? How likely are shark attacks? This book answers your questions about some of nature's most misunderstood animals. Answering every conceivable question about sharks, authors Gene Helfman and George H. Burgess describe the fascinating biology, behavior, diversity (there are more than 1,000 species worldwide), and cultural importance of sharks, their close relationship to skates and rays, and their critical role in healthy ecosystems. Helfman and Burgess take readers on a round-the-world tour of shark habitats, which include oceans as well as lakes and even rivers (as far up the Mississippi as St. Louis). They describe huge, ferocious predators like (Great) White and Tiger sharks and species such as Basking and Whale sharks that feed on microscopic prey yet can grow to lengths of more than 40 feet. The mysterious and powerful Greenland shark, the authors explain, reaches a weight of 2,200 pounds on a diet of seal flesh. Small (less than 2-foot long) Cookiecutter sharks attack other sharks and even take a chunk out of the occasional swimmer. Despite our natural fascination with sharks, we have become their worst enemy. Many shark species are in serious decline and a number are threatened with extinction as a result of overfishing and persecution. Sharks: The Animal Answer Guide presents a perfect mix of current science, history, anthropology, intriguing facts, and gripping photographs. Whether your fascination with sharks stems from fear or curiosity, your knowledge of these animals will improve immensely when you consult this book.
Consult the wise old OWL - for a variety of common citation styles -- but NOT for CSE (Council of Science Editors)!! For simple CSE questions, try the Writing Center of the University of Wisconsin's guide
OWL - The Online Writing Lab at Purdue University - to get basic structural information for creating a citation list or bibliography using a particular citation style such as APA, MLA, or Turabian.