James P. Adams Library: Communication Resources: Media Resources

.. in the Library's collection

The collections listed below represent a few of the video, visual and audio, resources to whcih the Library subscribes.

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Artstor also supports study across disciplines, including anthropology from Harvard’s Peabody Museum, archaeology from Erich Lessing Culture and Fine Art Archives, and modern history from Magnum Photos, making it a resource for your whole institution. Need help? We recommend Artstor on YouTube
Kanopy Streaming Media This link opens in a new window
Get the app from the App Store or from Google Play!

Streaming films, documentaries and videos available for online viewing at RIC or via your active RIC library account (name & barcode). Featured producers in Kanopy's collection include Criterion Collection, PBS, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, First Run Features, BBC, Roland Collection, MVD, Seventh Art, Psychotherapy. net, Symptom Media, and many more. The films can be watched from anywhere, anytime.
NAXOS Music Library This link opens in a new window
Get the app from the App Store or from Google Play!

The Naxos Music Library is a comprehensive collection of classical music online and offers the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Da Capo catalogues as well as Jazz and World music, educational products and a growing range of historical recordings featuring the biggest performers in the history of classical music. ACCESS LIMITED TO 10 SIMULTANEOUS USERS.
Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online (formerly VAST Academic Video Online) includes thousands of films (not clips) from dozens of producers and distributors in a wide range of subjects, all licensed for educational use and hosted by Alexander Street Press. It includes collections in Area Studies, Art & Architecture, Black Studies, Business & Economics, Classical Music, Counseling & Therapy, Criminal Justice & Public Safety, Current Affairs, Dance, Education, Ethnic studies, Ethnography, Film Studies, Gay & Lesbian Studies, Health, History, Humanities, Opera, Politics & Current Affairs, Psychology, Rehabilitation Therapy, Religion & Philosophy, Science, Sports Medicine, Theatre, Women’s & Gender Studies, and World Languages & Literature.

Library of Congress Collections

Library of Congress Collections with Film-And-Videos

The Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division (MBRS) has responsibility for the acquisition, cataloging and preservation of motion picture and television collections. The Collections are digitized and freely accessible and include "America at Work, America at Leisure," "Ranching Culture in Northern Nevada," "Vaudeville and Popular Entertainment," Early Films of New York City," and others you'll find described below.

Origins of American Animation
The development of early American animation is represented by this collection of 21 animated films and 2 fragments, which spans the years 1900 to 1921. The films include clay, puppet, and cut-out animation, as well as pen drawings. They point to a connection between newspaper comic strips and early animated films, as represented by Keeping Up With the Joneses, Krazy Kat, and The Katzenjammer Kids. As well as showing the development of animation, these films also reveal the social attitudes of early twentieth-century America.
Inventing Entertainment: The Early Motion Pictures and Sound Recordings of the Edison Companies
The collections in the Library of Congress's Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division contain an extraordinary range of the surviving products of Edison's entertainment inventions and industries. This site features 341 motion pictures, 81 disc sound recordings, and other related materials, such as photographs and original magazine articles. Cylinder sound recordings will be added to this site in the near future.
Theodore Roosevelt: His Life and Times on Film
"This collection consists of 104 motion pictures and four sound recordings ...and as a whole serves as an important representation of the latter part of Roosevelt's life before the motion picture cameras and of political and world events of the first two decades of the twentieth century."

Politics and Presidents

Presidential Speech Archive
Includes both print and audio when available. The Miller Center is a nonpartisan affiliate of the University of Virginia that specializes in presidential scholarship, public policy, and political history and strives to apply the lessons of history to the nation’s most pressing contemporary governance challenges.
Presidential Debates - Transcripts
The Commission on Presidential Debates (CPD) was established in 1987 to ensure that debates, as a permanent part of every general election, provide the best possible information to viewers and listeners. Links to CPAN's video coverage of many of the debates is included.
Do You Speak Presidential?
Language is a powerful political tool. An article on the pbs.org website explains how, in America, presidential speech continues to reflect broader changes in our way of speaking.
INTERNET ARCHIVE: Presidential Recordings
The Presidential Recordings Collection is made up of two distinct types of presidential speech: public speeches made by U.S. Presidents and secret recordings made in the White House between 1940 and 1973. Most recordings are from the Miller Center. (See Above)