Special Collections

RIC Special Collections Department was created in 1974 and established in its present location, Adams Library 413-416, in 1978. In 1982, the reading room was dedicated in honor of Rhode Island College Professors Ronald Ballinger (History) and Martha Bacon Ballinger (English). Most of the books in Special Collections are listed in the Adams Library Catalog. There are finding aids and collection descriptions available for finding other materials. Some of these can be found in Rhode Island Archival and Manuscript Collections Online. Assistance and reference services are available by appointment only. Materials in Special Collections do not circulate. However, loans to other institutions can be made on a case by case basis with the approval of the Special Collections Librarian and the Director of the Library.

Special Collections: The Special Collections at Rhode Island College contain papers, photographs, moving images, audio, and other types of documentation (including electronic records) from individuals, organizations, and businesses in Rhode Island, with emphasis on those with a relationship to Rhode Island College, cultural heritage of Rhode Island, and the RI Cape Verdean Community.

College Archives: The College Archives contain non-current records of RIC and its predecessor agencies, faculty papers and publications, student theses and dissertations, and other College-related materials. This collection documents the internal life and culture of the College community. Some of these collections are listed on the College Archives section of the site, but not all. The Special Collections Librarian will be happy to assist you with locating college records not on the site’s listing.

Rare Books: The Special Collections also houses the Adam’s Library collection of rare and special books. This collection includes books related to the histories of Rhode Island and Cape Verde, books written by RIC alumni, faculty, and staff, as well as rare or annotated books removed from our Special Collections. All books are cataloged into the Library Catalog.