HIST 200 - The Great War / Schneider, Joanne

Rev. ed. of: The Oxford encyclopedia of the modern Islamic world (1995-1998); available within Oxford Islamic Studies Online.

Very accessible work, profusely illustrated: maps, photographs, tables, charts, such as a chronological chart of Islamic regional development. documents the transmission of Islamic culture from generation to generation and from state to state over 500 years. Extensive bibliography.

Highly illustrated work

This volume is a representative example from a series of Historical Dictionaries. Search HELIN by title, using "historical dictionary of", to find others.

A Companion to the First World War brings together original essays by an international team of distinguished historians on one of the most devastating events in modern history. Comprises 38 essays by leading scholars who analyze the current state of historical scholarship on the First World War. Provides extensive coverage spanning the pre-war period, the military conflict, social, economic, political, and cultural developments, and the war's legacy. Offers original perspectives on themes as diverse as strategy and tactics, war crimes, science and technology, and the arts.

The Encyclopedia encompasses East Asia and the countries of Pakistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Iran, Iraq, Turkey, and Afghanistan, but it does not include Siberia or Caucasia. The set is geared toward a generally educated readership with the aim of covering a diverse, rather than uniform, Asia. All 2,800 entries, ranging from 200-4,000 words each, are followed by a bibliography of further readings. The thematic Reader's Guide shows articles organized into Asia's six major regions (west, southwest, central, east, southeast, and south). Within each region, organization is under the topics of arts, literature, and recreation; economics, commerce, and transportation; geography and the natural world; government, politics, and law; international relations; language and communication; peoples, cultures, and society; history and profile; religion and philosophy; and science, technology, and health. An important sub-theme is the relationship between particular countries.

Providing an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures. With more than 22,000 signed entries on Jewish life, culture, history and religion, this second edition incorporates the latest scholarship. Featuring original work by top scholars representing all major universities and centres of research in Jewish studies, this invaluable set expands the scope and relevance of the original with some 2,200 brand-new entries.

Home to a fifth of the world's population and the largest democracy in the world, India holds a prominent place in current events yet remains unknown or misunderstood by many people who seek a single, authoritative source for information on this political and economic dynamo. The Encyclopedia of India meets this need, encompassing the history, cultures, geography, and religions of India from ancient times to the present day. As India's role in global politics and economics continues to grow, readers will find the wide range and depth of information contained within this work an indispensable tool to gaining a solid appreciation of India and its place in our modern world.

This nine-volume reference contains over 10,000 articles exploring every aspect of Japanese society, history, politics, economy, thought and culture.

Ref DA28 .O95 2004

Ref E176.A68 1999

Adams Library holds volumes beginning in 1899. Though many gaps exist, we hold several volumes for the period of the First World War. This work can give you detail about the activities of persons in their early years who would play continuing roles in 20th century history such as Winston Churchill.