A few facts about journal articles:
- Scholars and experts write articles to share research and ideas in their fields of study. For that reason, articles contain information that is very specific. It is best to know something about your topic before searching for articles. [So remember the recommendation to use CREDO Reference under the Welcome! tab of this LibGuide.]
- Scholarly articles are generally published by academic journals.
- Journals will put articles through a peer-review process prior to publication.
- James P. Adams Library provides access to print and digital scholarly journal articles.
- The best way to find journal articles on your research topic is to use an article database.
-
Interdisciplinary article databases (also listed on the A-Z Database list on the Library homepage):
- Academic Search Complete (This link opens in a new window)
Indexes and abstracts over 11,000 magazines and scholarly journals in all subject areas with over 7,000 in full text.
- Google Scholar (This link opens in a new window)
On-campus users see additional links in the right side column of Google Scholar search results which facilitate access to the library's full text articles. Off campus, the same library links may be used by clicking on "Settings" in the drop down menu, clicking on "Library Links," then typing "Rhode Island College" into the search box.
- JSTOR (This link opens in a new window)
A favorite full text database with excellent selected coverage in history.
The discipline specific article database in European history:
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
