James P. Adams Library: HSCI 466 Evidence Based Decision Making for Dental Hygienist: Recommended Article Databases

Database Content

These three databases search the journal literature in the medical, nursing and health sciences. There is a good amount of duplication across the three. One important point about the PubMed database: it is freely available to all, whereas CINAHL and MEDLINE are usually only available to those with access to an academic or health science library.

Article Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive research database provides indexing and full text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals. Additional materials included in CINAHL Plus with Full Text include Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
This version of MEDLINE can searched conveniently with PsycINFO, CINAHL and/or other Ebscohost databases.